Solved: Word Web App cannot open this document for viewing because of an unexpected error

Posted: March 24, 2012 in SharePoint
Tags: , ,

Last week at the end of the year and last days ( Norouz is coming ! 🙂 ) I was challenging with this error when I was trying to open office docs in Microsoft web apps.

“Word Web App cannot open this document for viewing because of an unexpected error.  To view this document, open it in Microsoft Word”

 

Finally I configured it successfully and to cut a long story short, the important things I did was:

  1. In Central Administration In the “Manage services on server” check the related services are “started”
  2. I created a separate service account ( I did not use the Farm Admin account | System Account ) for the application pools. ( used in service applications )
  3. I found the service account MUST have privilege on Content Database. I used DB_Owner role.
  4. Add the service account to the local policy “Replace a process level token”. to do this:
    • On the Windows 2008 server, select Start | Programs | Administrative Tools | Local Security Policy
    • Expand Local Policies | User Rights Assignment
    • In User Rights Assignment | Click on the Replace a process level token policy. Click on Add user or group. Type in the service account, resolve the name. Click OK. Click OK. Click apply. Click OK. (Below is a screenshot of the policy)
    • After the permission is set then launch a command prompt and type the following: gpupdate /force
  5. you also may need an IISReset /noforce

After doing this Web Apps should work correctly. you can also check this link and this one. I found them useful during my search for the problem and solution.

good luck 😉 !

 

Comments
  1. joe says:

    All I needed to do was add the content DB perms and refresh the page. I am wondering whether db_owner is the right perm level?

    • Navid.R says:

      I think that’s the right perm level. It was long time ago but I think I tested different levels and the one which worked was db_owner. However you can test with different perm levels yourself and see the result. Choose the least one which worked !

  2. Faizel Mootheril says:

    Thank you! You solved my problem. I already had a service account. The service account was not added to the newly created site collections with its own content databases. Your information lit a light bulb in my head. I checked the database and added the service account. Did the IISRESET as you mentioned and it worked! I came here after going through so many sites and not resolving the issue. Thanks Again!

  3. Aslan says:

    Hello! I have the same problem with office web apps. PLEASE, sorry for stupid question, can you explain where should i check 3 point about “the service account MUST have privilege on Content Database”? In Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio or in some other place?

  4. […] Solved: Word Web App cannot open this document for … – Mar 24, 2012 · Last week at the end of the year and last days ( Norouz is coming ! ) I was challenging with this error when I was trying to open office docs in …… […]

Leave a Reply

