Server Error in ‘/’ Application, Parser Error

Posted: January 31, 2009 in Errors, SharePoint
Tags: , , , ,

Today morning , my manager called me and said to me that our sharepoint site has stopped working and for all users it gives “Server Error in ‘/’ Application”.

I came to the company and check all services , IIS and database. There were working without antproblem. it was strange !

So I decided to  change the web.config file to to see more details. as I said before I  changed “CustomErrors” and “CallStack” attributes in web.config . I found that this is a new error and it’s about parse.

Parser Error

Description: An error occurred during the parsing of a resource required to service this request. Please review the following specific parse error details and modify your source file appropriately.

Parser Error Message: Data at the root level is invalid. Line 1, position 1.

Source Error:

Line 1:  <browsers>
Line 2:      <browser id="Safari2" parentID="Safari1Plus">
Line 3:          <controlAdapters>

Source File: /App_Browsers/compat.browser Line: 1

Solved ! after a little search I found when you modify a file with MS Sharepoint Designer, It creates a folder with name _vti_cnf in App_Browsers that another compat.browser is in it.  So after deleting the folder our site started to work fine again. It seems that the best application to open these files i Visual Studio or Virual Web Designer not MS Sharepoint Designer.

Comments
  1. Charlie says:

    Thanks for this advice. It worked for me. I was struggling with this error for a day now. Thanks again,

    Charlie

  2. Navid says:

    Glad to hear that … 🙂

  3. Roy says:

    Hi Navid,

    I tried the same steps as you said, but still the issue is not
    resolved. It shows error page on load on!

    Please assist

    Regards,
    Roy

  4. Navid says:

    Hi Roy
    didn’t the error message changed ??
    or it’s still same as previous ???

Leave a Reply

