finally solved Office Sharepoint Server Error 7888 and 3760 !!!

Posted: November 3, 2008 in Backup & Restore, SharePoint
Tags: , ,

Now It is at least 2 weeks that I found 2 kind of errors in my sharepoint server Event Viewer. yes, I solved them finally !! :)

The first one was :

Source : Office Sharepoint Server
Category : Office Server General
Event ID : 7888
Description :
A runtime exception was detected. Details follow.

Message: Cannot open database “DB Name” requested by the login. The login failed.
Login failed for user ‘NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM’.

The Second one :

Source : Windows Sharepoint Services 3
Category : Database
Event ID : 3760
Description :
SQL Database ‘DB Name’ on SQL Server instance ‘Server Instance’ not found. Additional error information from SQL Server is included below.
Cannot open database “DB Name” requested by the login. The login failed.
Login failed for user ‘NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM’.

The point was that I had deleted these databses before. There were some old sharepoint  RESTORE databases. These databases did not exist any more. I wondered a lot why sharepoint OWSTIMER attempt to connect to them. I searched a lot and finally found it is related to my content databases. yes, I think any Restore database, will add to the related web application as a content database.

However I had deleted the old databases manually from the SQL server management Studio, but the name of databases had remained in the Central Administration. I found them in the Application Management > Content Databases . So after Checked the Remove content database and push OK , there were no more errors in the event viewer.
I think we for deleting any content content database, it’s better to use this way instead of manually deleting it from SQL management studio.

Good luck !

Comments
  1. Chris Mc says:

    Thanks!

    You Rock and if I was a girl Id totally want to have your babies.

  2. karim mohamed says:

    i still suffering from error 3760

    i couldont open any service in my application management

    i always recive “unknown error “

  3. Tom says:

    Excellent post! Saved me a lot of heartache! Thank you!!!!!

Leave a Reply

