Schedule a Backup in Sharepoint & Restore per File

Posted: September 17, 2008 in Backup & Restore, SharePoint
Tags: , ,

It was long time that I have a question in my mind 

How can I schedule a backup of my server farm ?! and another one that  How can I Restore per file ?! I searched a lot and found there’s no pre defined solution in microsoft sharepoint itself. Also there are some applications that can solve it but I didn’t want to use them . I found a good post that I think it’s a nice trick to backup sharepoint and restore your file !

The trick in summary was that you should schedule your backup jobs and after that , when a restore a file was needed, you restore the whole backup in a temp location and use your file ! So how to do it ?!

1 – Go to  Control Panel –> Scheduled Tasks –> Add Scheduled Task

2 – Browse to the the folder that “Stsadm.exe” exists and select it. you know :
(  %SystemDrive%\Program Files\Common Files\Microsoft Shared\Web server extensions\12\Bin )

3 – in the next 3 dialog you should set how often you want to run the task ( daily and timely ). it’s up to you but if the existence of files is very important I think it’s good to do your backup daily .

4 – after you entered your administrator credentials click Next.

5 – Select the “Open advanced properties when you click finish” check box, and then click Finish”.

6 – Then in the Run Section type the exact address of stsadm.exe and type your backup command for example in my case it is :  C:\Program files\Common files\Microsoft shared\Web server extensions\12 Bin\Stsadm.exe” -o backup -url http://yourCompanyweb -filename SPBackup -directory “local or UNC path” -backupmethod “Full/Diffrential”

you can find more details on backup command on microsoft technet here . I found this way in this blog and I’m very thankful to Bradly.

Leave a Reply

